Time flies!

I am writing this blog post from New York, where Justin and I have been spending the Christmas holiday with his family. It’s so hard to believe that we have been back in the U.S. for nearly 5 months! I’ve been a bit delinquent on posting (it’s on my New Years resolutions list to be more frequent!), so let me catch you up on the last few months.

New City:
We’re now settled into Washington, DC where we are slowly but surely getting used to life there. It’s a slower pace than New York City and certainly very different from Morocco! The transition has taken a while but I think we are finally getting used to both life in the U.S. and life in our new city.

New Apartment:
After living in a temporary place for a month or so, we moved into a permanent apartment in the Columbia Heights neighborhood, which I just recently read has the largest concentration of returned Peace Corps Volunteers in the world! So I’m happy that we’re in good company. It took a few months but we’re almost fully unpacked and settled in.

New Jobs:
Justin has started back at school to get his PhD in Criminology and Criminal Justice at the University of Maryland (proud wife brag: It’s the number one program for this in the country!) and he’s doing really well and enjoying the work. I am working as a Marketing Manager at an amazing education technology company called EverFi. The company creates interactive, web platform-based programs to teach critical skills to students that might be missing from either the school or their home (for example, financial education for high schoolers or alcohol abuse prevention for college students) and partners with corporations to bring these into schools free of charge. It’s very much a change from my days working in corporate advertising, and I love coming to work knowing that my work has the potential to enrich and improve people’s future prospects.

New Year:
Now that we are finally feeling more settled, I’m so excited to begin the next year and to see what adventures are ahead! From our home to yours, wherever you may be in the world, wishing you a year filled with learning, wonder, and beauty. I look forward to continuing to chart our journeys in 2014!

One thought on “Time flies!

Leave a comment